Cheney Lumber Pt. 2

I decided to tackle the lumber storage/loading area next. From the photo, It doesn’t look like the concrete pads are at freight door height. I decided to cheat a bit and make the uncovered pad high enough to load boxcars. Construction was from 0.030 sheet styrene, and I had to buy some for one of the pads. I used Rustoleum Multicolor Texture paint for, um, texture, then Grey primer for color. Weathering was from earth-colored pastels. I added a scale 12 x 12 timber bumper to the front of the loading dock to allow for more leeway in positioning piece. CA bonded everything in place.

npp-lumber-dock-and-pad-in-place-1

npp-lumber-dock-and-pad-in-place-2

To ease the transition between the flat and raised pads, I used water putty to simulate a dirt road between them. During the process some putty got on the pads, but I like the effect of mud splashed up.

npp-sawmill-site-work-4

The space between the curve and spur is a log storage area. I textured the space with Woodland Scenics Earth, Grass, and Weed products. There’s a mixture of ballast and cinders on the tracks. The idea was to get the ‘ground’ level more-or-less even with the track level. I layered each application so it built up. I’m pretty happy with the way the tracks seem to disappear into the ground. There’s far more vegetation than would be found in a working yard, or in the prototype photo, but I think it will look good in the end.

I decided to make this corner of the layout into a millpond. There was no intent to put a water feature here, but I didn’t know what else to do with the space. From the prototype photo it’s not unreasonable to have a millpond in close proximity to the mill. After cutting away the foam I slathered the basin with water putty and painted with varying dilutions of India ink.

 

npp-sawmill-site-work-3 npp-sawmill-site-work-2

So the basic site work is in for this part of the project.

This entry was posted in Construction, Logging, Projects, Scenery and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

